printed copy

Return Of The Mountain Man #2

William W. Johnstone

ISBN 9780758231635
Publish Date 4/28/2009
Format Trade Paperback
Categories Kensington, Last Mountain Man, Western
Currently out of stock

Other Editions


William W. Johnstone’s vivid, uncompromising novels stand as violent portraits of the rugged American frontiersman and the forces that forged him. In this powerful novel, Johnstone tells the story of a young Missourian forced by fate and violence into lawlessness—where he sees a chance to right the wrong that shattered his family and his soul…

Smoke Jensen is a young man raised on loss and bitterness, nurtured by a mountain man named Preacher. Now, Smoke Jensen, with his, a new black horse and an old grudge, slips over the unmarked border into the turbulent Idaho Territory. Ahead is a town called Bury, built on stolen gold, and run by a band of ruthless men who had a hand in the murder of Smoke’s brother in the Civil War. Smoke’s father died in pursuit of those killers, but urged his son not to waste his life in vengeance…

Swift, powerful and poetic, Return Of The Mountain Man is an action-packed tale by William W. Johnstone, an American master—and a great chronicler of our harsh and often unforgiving last frontier.

Return of the Mountain Man

“What do you mean, I can’t come in?” Buck said, standing on the front porch of the Pink House.

“Buck,” Sally’s voice came through the closed door. “You’d better get out of town. Sheriff Reese and his deputies are looking for you. Word just drifted into town that you’re Smoke Jensen.”

So the cat was out of the bag. Fine, he was getting tired of being Buck West.

“Do you ladies have plenty of food and water,” he said. “Enough for a month-long siege?”

“Go away, Buck,” came the answer.

“Call me Smoke,” he said…

About William W. Johnstone:

William W. Johnstone is the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of over 220 books, including The First Mountain Man; The Last Mountain Man; Maccallister; Eagles; Savage Texas; Matt Jensen, The Last Mountain Man; The Family Jensen; The Kerrigans: A Texas Dynasty, and the stand-alone thrillers Suicide Mission, The Bleeding Edge, Home Invasion, Stand Your Ground, Tyranny, and Black Friday. Visit his website at or by email at

Blood Bond
Code Name
Dog Team
Family Jensen
First Mountain Man
Last Gunfighter
Last Mountain Man
Luke Jensen, Bounty Hunter
Matt Jensen
Phoenix Rising
Savage Texas
Town Called Fury
Trail West

Average Customer Review

Based on 1 review

Customer Review

good old western (Thursday, June 11, 2009)
Reviewer: Dylan Herd

This book is really a time machine. It makes you feel like you are sent back into the wild west and really makes the world come alive. Johnstone does a great job of portraying smoke and does a great job of setting out the story. It is really a great read. Once you start reading it you will not be able to put it down.

Write a Review