printed copy

Invasion USA #3: Border War

Fred Austin, William W. Johnstone

ISBN 0786018097
Publish Date 9/5/2006
Format Paperback
Categories Pinnacle, General, Border Trilogy
Currently out of stock

Other Editions


William W. Johnstone continues his all-new action-packed series torn from today’s headlines in which the American people must fight for the future of their country…

Border War

Not since the days of the infamous Pancho Villa has a foreign force raided American soil for plunder. And when a busload of American schoolgirls is hijacked and taken across the border into Mexico, the repercussions prove to be deadly.

The gang of kidnappers is led by the ruthless crime lord Alphonso Guerrerro, whose daughter is on that bus. His ex-wife took his daughter back to the States, but Alphonso wants her back—it’s a matter of pride—and will stop at nothing to get her. Now he’s got a devil’s bounty of young women to be used as hostages, or sold into the horrors of white slavery in South America if his demands are not met.

But Vietnam vet Tom Brannon has something to say about this. His niece is on that school bus, so he’s recruiting a battle-tough squad of ex-soldiers made up from the families of the kidnapped girls. They’re going to rescue the girls and destroy Guerrerro and his gang of border thugs once and for all.

About William W. Johnstone:

Just to give you a brief rundown on who William W. Johnstone is, here are the basic facts. He was born in Southern Missouri, the youngest of four kids. His father was a minister and his mother was a schoolteacher.

He quit school when he was fifteen and joined a carnival after getting kicked out of the FFL (for being underage), but he went back and finished high school in 1957. After that he worked as a deputy sheriff, did a hitch in the army, came back and went into radio broadcasting, where he worked for sixteen years.

Johnstone started writing in 1970, but he didn't get published until late 1979. He has written almost a hundred books including the best-selling Ashes series and the Mountain Man series. He began writing full-time in the early 1980s and hasn't stopped since. His first published book was THE DEVIL'S KISS and his favorite, so far, is THE LAST OF THE DOG TEAM.

Blood Bond
Code Name
Dog Team
Family Jensen
First Mountain Man
Last Gunfighter
Last Mountain Man
Luke Jensen, Bounty Hunter
Matt Jensen
Phoenix Rising
Savage Texas
Town Called Fury
Trail West

Average Customer Review

Based on 2 reviews

Customer Review

What a story (Saturday, February 3, 2007)
Reviewer: Don

My only complaint, I did not read Invasion USA first. It would have made the character placement much easier to follow.This was my fault because this was the first time I have read My Johnstone and did not know of his other book. This has been corrected. I really liked the story line and the quick pace of the book. I generally do not care for too much detail, it bogs down the story, and this author was excellent in my opinion of just enough detail to hold your intrest. It was extremely hard to put down. I am reading Invasion USA now and have bought 4 more of his titles and so far, I would highly recommend his reading.

Great reading. (Wednesday, September 6, 2006)
Reviewer: Mike

An avid reader (and struggling writer) this is the first novel I've read by William Johnstone. It was a very fast read. Finished it in 8 or 9 hours. I enjoyed the characters. There were some holes in the plot but overall I could dismiss them because of how quickly the story went. I'm sure that when I read Invasion USA some of my questions will be answered. I would have liked to have seen the FBI agent dressed down by her superiors. And, the battle at the mission could have had more detail and lasted a few pages longer. But overall I enjoyed the book. Thank you.

Write a Review