Dear Readers,

As springtime approaches, sometimes I feel like I’ve been hibernating just like our animal friends or hiding beneath the soil like a flower, waiting for warm rays of sunshine. This is a season of change and metamorphosis, not just for nature, but for us humans as well. It’s time for us to shake off the winter doldrums to emerge new and improved from our metaphorical cocoons!

In my reading these days, I’m enjoying stories where the characters are similarly striving, growing, and putting the past behind them. In this batch of extraordinary books, you will find friendship and resilience during the Great Depression, an inside look at the first guide dog school during WWI, a Romeo and Juliet romance on the American Frontier, gruff Colorado cowboys with hearts of gold, and three women whose lives now are very different from back when they were students at an elite boarding school.

Be sure to head on over to DownHomeReads.com too for more bookish fun, and look for my next round of recommendations in the magazine’s summer issue! More Down Home Reads are on the way, so don’t go far, y’all!

 

Happy Reading,

Jodi Thomas

Jodi's Current Book Selections

For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and The Four Winds, the lives of three vagabonds intersect during the Great Depression at a brutal turpentine labor camp isolated deep in the pine forests of rural Georgia in this captivating new novel from award-winning author Donna Everhart.

Oklahoma! meets Legends of the Fall in this sweeping family epic from New York Times bestselling author Janet Dailey that pits brother against brother in a fight to tame the wild landscape of the American West.

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Long Flight Home, comes a WWI novel both tender and exciting, as a German Red Cross nurse joins the world’s first guide dog training school for the blind and begins a quest to show a Jewish pianist who was blinded on the battlefield that life is worth living.

Headlined by blockbuster #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson, with fellow bestselling suspense stars Alexandra Ivy and Lisa Childs, a trio of never-before-released, linked novellas about dark secrets and revenge, all connected by St. Cecilia’s School for Girls. An elite boarding school and a haven for the daughters of the rich and famous, it’s a place where scandals are buried and secrets hidden. But for three former students, evil is about to resurface.

New York Times bestselling and legendary author Diana Palmer takes reader to Colorado in two of her celebrated novellas featuring solitary, silent cowboys who find their restless hearts tamed by women of uncommon grace and strength.

Sign-up for OUR Newsletter

Want to be the first to hear about our book club picks, exclusive sweepstakes, and more?

Sign-up today.

Join Between the Chapters:

Join our online book club created for readers, by readers.

Visit Between the Chapters for the latest exclusive content from your favorite authors.

Follow Jodi Thomas

shutterstock_159825203