Dear Readers,

With its festive decorations, gatherings with family and friends, changing seasons, homemade treats, and cheerful gifts, I’ve always felt the holiday season truly is the most wonderful time of the year. But it can also be downright hectic! That’s why, during this season of merry and bright, it’s especially important we give ourselves time to slow down and enjoy the simple pleasure of reading a good book.

Each of this issue’s featured books (including one from yours truly!) grants an escape from the holiday rush. You’ll visit a charming village in Maine where a fabled fox brings love and luck to those who glimpse him. Follow the twists and turns of a murder investigation that sends a brilliant PI and her handsome client all over Colorado, from its posh Vail mansions to its breathtaking ranches. Be whisked away to the glittering balls, witty banter, and swoon-worthy romance of the Regency era. And from me, a small college town where two scientists attempt to crack the chemistry of love while proving that opposites do indeed attract. All of these stories will bring comfort and joy to your well-deserved “me time” this holiday season!

Be sure to head on over to DownHomeReads.com too for more bookish fun, and look for my next round of recommendations in the magazine’s spring issue! More Down Home Reads are on the way, so don’t go far, y’all!

 

Happy Reading,

Jodi Thomas

Jodi's Current Book Selections

In the small college town of Clifton, Texas, a buttoned-up chemistry professor and his spontaneous, outgoing colleague are conducting an experiment on “The Chemistry of Mating.” Soon enough the whole town is talking about this endeavor to quantify the science of love. But no matter what the data determines one conclusion seems inescapable: love follows its own rules…

With the first in a brand new, high-octane romantic thriller series, New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin stirs up a hornet's nest of lies, adultery, and murder as a betrayed husband and a private detective investigate his estranged wife's disappearance.

Perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Minerva Spencer weaves a tale of second chances that turns traditional tropes on its head, as a Regency-era former “mean girl” and a geek-turned-handsome lord cross paths at a wedding house party. Their pairing is explosive and the results are unforgettable!

In the charming mountain town of Fox Crossing, Maine, the locals are friendly, nature lovers are welcome, and a single glimpse of a legendary fox can change your life forever. This feel-good story about small town life, unexpected love, and second chances is perfect for animal lovers and anyone looking for an uplifting read!

Bestselling authors Madeline Hunter, Sabrina Jeffries, and Mary Jo Putney deck the halls with this delightful Christmas collection of three sparkling holiday interconnected romances, as stranded travelers find merriment, mistletoe, and holiday romance awaiting at a quaint country inn.

Sign-up for OUR Newsletter

Want to be the first to hear about our book club picks, exclusive sweepstakes, and more?

Sign-up today.

Join Between the Chapters:

Join our online book club created for readers, by readers.

Visit Between the Chapters for the latest exclusive content from your favorite authors.

Follow Jodi Thomas

shutterstock_159825203