Deborah’s Peppermint Brownies by Charlotte Hubbard

No wonder Noah can’t resist these moist, chocolaty treats with a surprise burst of mint in the middle! This recipe was originally featured as a Christmas cookie recipe, but why wait for the holidays to enjoy them?

1½ cups butter (3 sticks), melted
3 cups sugar
1 T. vanilla extract
5 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
24 small peppermint patties (1½”), unwrapped

Preheat oven to 350°. Spray a 9” x 13” baking pan with nonstick coating. In a large bowl, stir together the butter, sugar, and vanilla. Add the eggs one at a time and stir until well blended. Stir in the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Reserve 2 cups of batter.

Spread remaining batter in the prepared pan. Arrange peppermint patties in a single layer over the batter, about ½ inch apart. Carefully spread the reserved batter over the patties. Bake 50–55 minutes, until the center is set. Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. Cut in 4 columns of 9 rows for 36 brownies. Freezes well.

Kitchen Hint: These brownies can be served as is, or you can make a topping of ½ cup powdered sugar, 2 drops peppermint extract, and enough milk to make a liquid glaze. Drizzle over brownies when cool, before cutting.


“Hubbard writes Amish stories with style and grace.” —RT Book ReviewsIt’s a better life, a fresh start–and a heaven-sent second chance. Founded by three Amish sisters determined to put misfortune behind them, Promise Lodge is a colony where faith’s abiding promise can be fulfilled–and love can make all things new…

Energetic widow Mattie Bender Schwartz is working day and night to get Promise Lodge going. She’s also hoping the change will help her son Noah’s heart to heal after his broken engagement. But his former fiancée, Deborah, is looking for a fresh start too. Filled with regret, and cast out by her dat for a reason she can’t yet reveal, Deborah can only pray Noah will forgive her foolishness.

Deborah is the last person Noah expected to show up at Promise Lodge. But with her cruel words still ringing in his head, he’s reluctant to accept her apology–even if the Old Order ways demand he try. If only he could obey Christ’s most important commandment: love one another. But one thing is certain–his mother and aunts, and their beloved Preacher Amos, will do their best to help him get there.

Praise for Charlotte Hubbard’s Seasons of the Heart series

“Another great book centered around the Sweet Seasons Café.” —RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

“These very special books will sit proudly on my keeper shelf!” —Romance Reviews Today