ebook

A Family for Gracie: Amish of Pontotoc #3

Amy Lillard

ISBN 9781420145717
Publish Date 7/30/2019
Format ePub
Categories Fiction Inspirational, Romance Inspirational
List Price: $5.99

Other Editions

Paperback

For the Amish of Pontotoc, Mississippi, faith and family are everything—even when they pose the greatest challenge . . .

Gracie Glick is known for being the helpful one, always available for a relative in need. But now that she’s longing for a home and family of her own, it’s time to help herself. With few eligible men in Pontotoc, Gracie’s choices, and her time, are limited. So she takes a bold leap of faith: she proposes to Matthew Byler, a handsome, recently widowed, father of five. It’s not until after they’re married that Gracie learns Matthew doesn’t want more children . . .

With his grief still fresh, and his children needing care while he tends to his farm, Gracie is the answer to Matthew’s prayers. But a marriage in name only suits him fine. And when he finally tells Gracie the dismaying reason why, they must decide whether to continue together—or apart. It’s a choice that will force them both to look deeper into their hearts than ever before . . .

Praise for Amy Lillard and her Wells Landing novels

“An inspirational story of romance, faith, and trust . . . will appeal to fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis.” —Library Journal on Caroline’s Secret

“Fans of inspirational romance will appreciate Lillard’s vivid characters and positive message.” –Publishers Weekly

About Amy Lillard:

Amy Lillard is an award-winning author of over forty novels and novellas ranging from Amish romance and mysteries to contemporary and historical romance. Since receiving a Carol Award for her debut novel, Saving Gideon (2012), she has become known for writing sweet stories filled with family values, honest characters, a hometown feel and close-knit communities. She is a member of RWA, ACFW, NINC, and the Author’s Guild. Born and bred in Mississippi, she now lives with her husband and son in Oklahoma. Please visit her online at AmyWritesRomance.com.

Average Customer Review

Based on 1 review


Customer Review

A heartwarming novel (Tuesday, August 13, 2019)
Reviewer: Kris Anderson, The Avid REader

A Family for Gracie is the third novel in the Amish of Pontotoc series. It can easily be read as a standalone if you have not read the other books in this series. I thought A Family for Gracie was a sweet, expressive story. It is well-written with engaging characters and a lovely setting. Gracie has numerous relatives, but she wants her own family. She longs for a husband and children. Matthew is a widower with five children. Gracie knows little about Matthew except he is eligible and needs a wife. This makes for an intriguing story as we watch Matthew and Gracie adjust to their new life. Matthew’s children provide humor especially Henry, the mischievous one. Henry and his brothers’ antics had me chuckling. Marriage is hard work, but it is even more challenging when two people do not know each other and there is a lack of communication. Then add in five children who are grieving and confused (their mother is gone and now they have a new woman taking charge). Baby Grace cried constantly because she missed her mother. There are endless chores especially with so many people in one house. I felt for the wee little tike who experienced such loss so early in her little life. Amy Lillard deftly deals with difficult topics (depression for example). She handled them with grace and compassion. Forgiveness, guilt, and depression are a couple of topics addressed. We see the importance of prayer and having a strong faith in God. I liked that I could feel the character’s emotions and I appreciated the epilogue at the end. I was happy that Leah and Hannah were back in this story so we can see how they are doing. That pair also provided some lighthearted moments. Aunt Eunice While the ending is expected, A Family for Gracie is a lovely, heartfelt novel. A Family for Gracie has mischievous munchkins, kind cousins, a chaotic home, a boisterous pup, a benevolent bishop, and a marriage full of possibilities.


Write a Review