printed copy

A Catered Fourth Of July: A Mystery with Recipes

Isis Crawford

ISBN 9780758274915
Publish Date 6/24/2014
Format Hardcover
Categories Pinnacle, Cozy, Mystery
Currently out of stock

Other Editions

ePub Paperback

High noon on July Fourth in the quiet town of Longley, New York, and it’s got to be one hundred degrees. Thankfully, sisters Bernie and Libby are setting up their yummy catering out of the sun in the gazebo for the reenactment of The Battle of Meadow Creek—and not baking in those Revolutionary War uniforms with their fellow townspeople …

After a few cheery exchanges of “Moveth” and “Thou speakest treason,” the muskets are fired and the fake battle is over. But the blood on notorious town playboy Jack Devlin looks very real. Is it possible that Jack has had his last tryst?

When town councilman and resident loudmouth Rick Evans fingers Libby’s beau, Marvin, as the killer, Bernie and Libby know they’ve got to get cooking on the case. But the former Casanova has burned half the town—including the hot-headed politician and his occasionally faithful wife. And what about re-enactor Elise Montague, who is training to be an EMT yet almost fainted at the sight of blood on the deceased?

Bernie and Libby have their plates overloaded with suspects, and will need to work very fast to clear Marvin’s name. The simmering killer is still out there, armed and taking shots, and unless the sisters quickly get to the bottom of this patriotic pre-meditation…their goose may be cooked!

Includes Original Recipes for You to Try!

Delicious Praise For Isis Crawford And Her Mouth-Watering Mysteries!

A Catered St. Patrick’s Day

“Cozy fans will appreciate the zany characters, witty dialogue and puzzling plot.” —Publishers Weekly

A Catered Thanksgiving

“This will please Crawford’s old fans and bring in new ones.” —RT Book Reviews

A Catered Birthday Party

“Fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Joanne Fluke will enjoy the investigative and culinary antics of the nosey sisters.” —Library Journal

A Catered Halloween

“Fun…well-plotted.” —Publishers Weekly

A Catered Christmas

“Comical minor arguments, bitchy asides, cookie dependencies, and useful recipes keep this moving.” —Library Journal

A Catered Murder

“Fans who love culinary mysteries are going to gain pounds after reading this delicious who-done-it.” —I Love a Mystery

About Isis Crawford:

Isis Crawford was born in Egypt to parents who were in the diplomatic corps. When she was five, her family returned to the States, where her mother opened a restaurant in Upper Westchester County and her father became a university professor. Since then Isis has combined her parents’ love of food and travel by running a catering service as well as penning numerous travel-related articles about places ranging from Omsk to Paraguay. Married, with twin boys, she presently resides in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, where she is working on the next Bernie and Libby culinary mystery. Readers can visit her website at isiscrawford.com.

Photo Credit: Sherry Chayat


Average Customer Review

Based on 1 review


Customer Review

“A Little Taste of Heaven—or A Big Taste of Revenge” (Thursday, July 24, 2014)
Reviewer: Nancy Narma

Despite the sizzling summer temperature, Sisters/Caterers, wise-cracking Bernie and super-serious Libby Simmons volunteered their talents for a Fourth of July buffet to coincide with the staged re-enactment of the Battle of Meadow Creek. The ladies had a bird’s eye view of the proceedings, but, hardly cast an eye from the confines of the gazebo. They had another chore as well as the buffet,
taking care of a very important member of the cast of characters, Hilda the mini-pot-bellied pig. The re-enactment, despite being a bit disorganized in the beginning seemed to be going along splendidly, until the confrontation with, what was supposed to be, all prop-type muskets from a costume store. Something went very wrong. Screams and gasps filled the air, and what was thought to be a bit of very realistic turned out to be a deadly explosion. When the smoke cleared, Jack Devlin, known slime ball, philanderer, and home wrecker lay dead. Was this an accident? Or was someone really out to get the roaming Romeo of Longely? Mild-mannered Mortician/Libby’s boyfriend, Marvin was in charge of the costumes and muskets for the re-enactment, so , immediately all fingers started pointing in his direction. What possible motive could Marvin have? Or perhaps someone has a score to settle with him as well? Jack Devlin had woven quite a web with his numerous femme fatales, some were happy with the news of his demise, some were sobbing at their loss—not to mention the cuckold husbands/significant others! Bernie and Libby don their sleuthing caps, as well as their Father, retired police chief, Sean, to prove Marvin’s innocence—at times with comical results. Who could have tampered with Jack’s musket? Did anyone see anything out of the ordinary? Perhaps someone within the circle of Wiccans, chanting and dancing in the Deitrich Rose Garden situated on a grassy knoll above the battleground spotted something? Or, maybe, one of the other actors realized something was amiss? Or, had one of the costumed Redcoats or Colonists plan and orchestrate the slaying? Longely may be a “Sleepy little town”, but there’s always excitement when Bernie and Libby are around! This is the third of Author Crawford’s cozy mysteries I have read. I enjoyed being re-introduced to the familiar cast of characters, but also, introduced to some zany, and quirky new residents of Longely—such as newly-elected Councilman, a stickler for details, Rick Evans and his Socialite wife, Gail, “Hilda’s Mama” Juno, and Chuck Grisham, the mysterious duo of David and Cora Nancy, Musket and Flintlock Club President Elise Montague, plus so many more. You’ll quickly get acquainted with these folks and either be looking forward to the next volume or going back to see what you missed with the nine previous cozies— or both. Either way, don’t miss this quick, easy read which also includes some pretty yummy recipes from Walter Tono, a friend of the Simmons Sisters’ store, “A Little Taste of Heaven”. Nancy Narma


Write a Review