Summer of Secrets: Seasons of the Heart #1

Charlotte Hubbard

ISBN 9781420127829
Publish Date 2/7/2012
Format ePub
Categories Kensington Ebooks, Fiction Inspirational, Romance Inspirational
List Price: $3.99

Other Editions


Welcome to Willow Ridge, Missouri! In this cozy Amish town along the banks of the river, the Old Ways are celebrated at the Sweet Seasons Bakery Café, and love is a gift God gives with grace…

Summer Of Secrets

Summer has come to Willow Ridge, but Rachel Lantz is looking forward to a whole new season in her life—marriage to strapping carpenter Micah Brenneman, her childhood sweetheart. When a strange Englischer arrives in the café claiming to be the long-lost sister of Rachel and her twin Rhoda, Rachel feels the sturdy foundation of her future crumbling—including Micah’s steadfast love. As the days heat up and tempers flare, Rachel and Micah will learn that even when God’s plan isn’t clear, it will always lead them back to each other…

“A heartwarming new voice for fans of Beverly Lewis.” —Emma Miller

About Charlotte Hubbard:

Drawing upon her experiences in Jamesport, the largest Old Order Amish community west of the Mississippi, longtime Missourian Charlotte Hubbard writes of simpler times and a faith-based lifestyle. Charlotte considers it her personal mission to feed people—to share hearth and home. Faith and family, farming and food preservation are hallmarks of her lifestyle—and the foundation of all her Amish romance series. She’s a deacon, a dedicated church musician, and a choir member. When she’s not writing, she loves to try new recipes, crochet, and sew. Charlotte now lives in Minnesota with her husband and their border collie. Please visit Charlotte online at CharlotteHubbard.com.

Photo Credit: Tom Piper

Average Customer Review

Based on 2 reviews

Customer Review

An Amish Tale!! (Wednesday, July 4, 2012)
Reviewer: Kathy Jund

Charlotte Hubbard provides a heartwarming peek at the simple life in an Amish community in her Secrets of the Heart series first installment; Summer of Secrets. The Lantz family has a secret, a secret so old most people do not even remember the incident that happened so long ago. This small, quaint Amish town in Missouri called Willow Ridge is home to the Sweet Seasons Bakery Café run by the widowed Miriam Lantz along with her twin daughters Rachel and Rhoda. Willow Ridge, a town along the highway that provides many a curious tourist with a chance to stop and sample the best food and bakery items anywhere while affording them with a quick glance at the simple life. Miriam Lantz is used to the outright puzzled looks and strange Englischer manners of her temporary customers but takes it all in stride, as the Café is her pride and joy, a trait not to be indulged in by the teachings of their Ordnung which preaches obedience, submission and patience but considers cooking her own version of therapy. With her heart in her throat, Miriam soon discovers pride is the least of her problems as during the lunch crush she takes in the sight of an austere young woman walking through her front door and knows her long buried secret will no longer remain hidden.

Summer of Secrets – I Loved It!! (Wednesday, April 11, 2012)
Reviewer: Judy K Burgi

Willow Ridge, Missouri is the setting for this great read. This story is centered around the Sweet Seasons Bakery Cafe’ owned and operated by Miriam Lantz with the help of her daughters Rachel and Rhoda and also her best friend Naomi Brenneman. Miriam opened the cafe’ after her husband Jesse died. This is her main income for her and her daughters. The cafe’ is a popular spot and Miriam has a good steady income from it.

Rachel Lantz hopes to marry Micah Brenneman some day. Will this union be compromised when a mysterious Englischer enters the café one day, claiming to be the lost daughter of Miriam’s, who was washed down the Missouri River in the 93 flood? Rachel is shocked by the girl’s appearance. She is all decked out in black with spiked hair, black rimmed eyes, a piercing in her eyebrow and two tattoos on her back. On top of that she is rude. Rachel can’t imagine the likes of her being her sister. Plus, it seems Micah is paying too much attention to her in the way he is staring at her.

There are other characters in this book that I came to love and one character in particular that I didn’t care for at all. I know once you read this book you will know the character that I speak of!

There are many secrets inside the pages of this book and one by one they are revealed.

This is the first book that I have read from this author. Her characters came to life for me. I really got wrapped up in this story line and hated when I had to put the book aside to do other things.

One of the things I liked about this book was it is God centered. It is based on Faith, Trust, Forgiveness and Hope for a bright future.

I must not forget to mention the yummy recipes that the author has included in the back of this book. This is a wonderful bonus in my opinion. I plan on copying them down so I can wow my family and friends.

I am looking forward to reading “Autumn Winds”, the next Sweet Seasons novel. I wish to thank you Charlotte Hubbard for a delightful read. I am truly a fan of yours!

I want to thank Kensington Publishing for sending me a copy of Summer of Secrets to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

Write a Review