printed copy

Imposter: The Last Gunfighter #6

William W. Johnstone

ISBN 0786014431
Publish Date 10/1/2002
Format Paperback
Categories Western, Pinnacle, The Last Gunfighter
Currently out of stock

Other Editions


The Last Gunfighter

The bestselling author of the classic Mountain Man series, William W. Johnstone has won an enormous following for his novels of the frontier the way it really was: when trailblazers lived or died by their wits, courage, and willingness to stand and fight. Now, he brings readers the next chapter in the history of that frontier with The Last Gunfighter, the powerful story of a lone man’s journey across the wild west—among outlaws, adventurers, and brave men and women building a new land.


With his legend dogging him everywhere he goes, Frank Morgan longs for a place to settle down. His choice is a remote corner of untamed Northern California, a land of towering trees and rugged hills. But for Frank, the haven is a hell. A man who is his exact look-alike has been terrorizing the local population, and when the townspeople get their hands on Frank, a hangman’s rope is sure to follow. If he’s going to be taken for an outlaw, Frank Morgan is going to act like one. Busting out of jail with a six-gun and a plan, he’s leaving this paradise behind—and won’t come back until he’s planted a killer in the ground…

Over 10 Million Johnstone Books In Print

“I’ve done a lot of things in my life, most of which I can’t talk about. But when I began writing, I knew I had found my niche in life. I have written more than a hundred books, and am well into my second hundred. I like to hear from my readers. You can write to me c/o the publisher, or e-mail me at

About William W. Johnstone:

Just to give you a brief rundown on who William W. Johnstone is, here are the basic facts. He was born in Southern Missouri, the youngest of four kids. His father was a minister and his mother was a schoolteacher.

He quit school when he was fifteen and joined a carnival after getting kicked out of the FFL (for being underage), but he went back and finished high school in 1957. After that he worked as a deputy sheriff, did a hitch in the army, came back and went into radio broadcasting, where he worked for sixteen years.

Johnstone started writing in 1970, but he didn't get published until late 1979. He has written almost a hundred books including the best-selling Ashes series and the Mountain Man series. He began writing full-time in the early 1980s and hasn't stopped since. His first published book was THE DEVIL'S KISS and his favorite, so far, is THE LAST OF THE DOG TEAM.

Blood Bond
Code Name
Dog Team
Family Jensen
First Mountain Man
Last Gunfighter
Last Mountain Man
Luke Jensen, Bounty Hunter
Matt Jensen
Phoenix Rising
Savage Texas
Town Called Fury
Trail West

Average Customer Review

Based on 0 reviews

Write a Review