ebook

Borrowed Time: A Chicago Mystery #2

Tracy Clark

ISBN 9781496714923
Publish Date 5/28/2019
Format ePub
Categories Mystery, Kensington Ebooks
List Price: $12.99

Other Editions

Hardcover
Upcoming May 28, 2019

In Tracy Clark’s electrifying new mystery featuring Cassandra Raines, the former Chicago cop turned private investigator looks into a suspicious death as a favor to a friend—and makes some powerful enemies . . .

Sitting in cold cars for hours, serving lowlifes with summonses . . . being a P.I. means riding out a lot of slow patches. But sometimes the most familiar paths can lead straight to danger—like at Cass’s go-to diner, where new delivery guy Jung Byson wants to enlist her expertise. Jung’s friend, Tim Ayers, scion of a wealthy Chicago family, has been found dead, floating in Lake Michigan near his luxury boat. And Jung is convinced there’s a murderer on the loose . . .

Cass reluctantly begins digging only to discover that Jung neglected to mention one crucial fact: Tim Ayers was terminally ill. Given the large quantities of alcohol and drugs found in his body, Ayers’ death appears to be either an accident or suicide. Yet as much as Cass would like to dismiss Jung’s suspicions, there are too many unanswered questions and unexplained coincidences.

Why would anyone kill a dying man? Working her connections on both sides of the law, Cass tries to point the police in the right direction. But violence is escalating around her, and Cass’s persistence has already attracted unwanted attention, uncovering sinister secrets that Cass may end up taking to her grave.

Praise For Tracy Clark And Broken Places

“This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.” --Booklist

“Engrossing and superbly written—I can’t say enough good things about Broken Places!” —Lisa Black, New York Times bestselling author of That Darkness and Unpunished

“Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.” --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Cass Raines is my favorite new private investigator. Broken Places takes you into a world where characters are the highest currency, wit is sharpened to a fine point, and the action makes your heart pound. A winning debut. Tracy Clark is one to watch.” —Carlene O’Connor, author of Murder at an Irish Wedding

“Clark’s kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.” --Kirkus Reviews

“Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks. –Library Journal (Starred Review)

About Tracy Clark:

Tracy Clark works as an editor in Chicago. Her fiction has been published in mystery magazines and anthologies. A native Chicagoan, she has never once put ketchup (God forbid) on a hotdog and she likes her pizza deep, not flat. When she’s not editing, reading, writing, living, she’s wandering around Chicago’s neighborhoods scouting out good places to (figuratively) stash a body.

Photo Credit: Jovanka Novakovic Bauwerks : Photography Studio Chicago


Average Customer Review

Based on 0 reviews



Write a Review