printed copy

Murder Flies the Coop: A Beryl and Edwina Mystery #2

Jessica Ellicott

ISBN 9781496710529
Publish Date 9/25/2018
Format Hardcover
Categories Cozy, Kensington
List Price: $26.00

Other Editions

ePub
Upcoming September 25, 2018

One would hardly call them birds of a feather, but thrill-seeking American adventuress Beryl Helliwell and quietly reserved Brit Edwina Davenport do one thing very well together—solve murders . . .

Sharing lodging in the sleepy English village of Walmsley Parva has eased some of the financial strain on the two old school chums, but money is still tight in these lean years following the Great War. All of Beryl's ex-husbands have proven reluctant to part with her alimony, which is most inconvenient.

So when the local vicar—and pigeon-racing club president—approaches them with a private inquiry opportunity, the ladies eagerly accept. There's been a spot of bother: the treasurer has absconded with the club's funds and several prized birds.

Beryl and Edwina hope to flush out the missing man by checking his boardinghouse and place of employment at the coal mine. But when they visit the man's loft, they find their elusive quarry lying in white feathers and a pool of crimson blood, stabbed to death—the only witnesses cooing mournfully.

After a stiff gin fizz, the ladies resume their search for the missing funds and prized birds—and now a murderer. Beryl and Edwina aren't shy about ruffling a few feathers as they home in on their suspects. But they had better find the killer fast, before their sleuthing career is cut short . . .

Praise For Murder In An English Village

“You'll love this delightful new series about two ladies of a certain age who refuse to let Society's expectations hold them back from bringing a killer to justice. The very British Edwina and the too American Beryl are a wonderfully mismatched pair who will keep you turning pages until they solve the crime.” —Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in the Bowery

“Ellicott’s debut delivers the traditional trappings of the cozy mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Absolutely delightful. Readers will fall in love with this intrepid new pair of sleuths as they sniff out the secrets hiding just beneath the surface of even the most unassuming English village." —Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

“Well-drawn women of a certain age, plot twists, and details of wartime and postwar Britain distinguish this historical cozy, which will appeal to fans of Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher.” —Booklist

"You'll fall in love with genteel Edwina and gregarious Beryl, a quirky pair of sleuths who pool their respective talents and doggedly get the job done. Great fun from start to finish, murder has never been so adorable!" —Alyssa Maxwell, author of A Pinch of Poison

“With its strong sense of place and time in post-World War I England, this will be welcomed by fans of Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton mysteries.” —Library Journal, starred review

“A spectacular series launch.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

About Jessica Ellicott:

Jessica Ellicott is the author of Murder in an English Village, the first book in the Beryl & Edwina Mystery series. She loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers, and throwing parties. She lives in northern New England where she obsessively knits wool socks and enthusiastically speaks Portuguese with a shocking disregard for the rules of grammar.

Average Customer Review

Based on 0 reviews



Write a Review