Frontier: Powder River (Printed Copy)


by S.K. Salzer
ISBN: 9780786036295
Publish Date: 5/31/2016
Format: Paperback
Categories: Western, Pinnacle



List Price: $6.99
Also available: Amazon, B&N, BAM, IndieBound, Target, Walmart, Hudson Booksellers

Please select a retailer above to purchase or visit your local bookstore.

Staff Pick & Review by Elizabeth May

Powder River is the conclusion of the Frontier series by award winning author, S.K. Salzer. In the tradition of Larry McMurty’s Lonesome Dove, Salzer combines elegant prose and meticulous historical accuracy to paint a vivid portrait of the American Frontier. Both the first and second book in this series were simultaneously nominated for Best Mass Market Paperback Novel by the Western Writers of America.

Powder River is a book no fan of Western or Americana fiction will want to miss.


The epic saga of the men and women who fought for a new life on the American frontier.

Reeling from the sudden death of his wife, Daniel Dixon returns to Wyoming’s Powder River country to start anew. It’s the end of the nineteenth century and the Indians are gone. The growing city of Buffalo, just a stone’s throw from the ruins of Fort Phil Kearny, seems a peaceful place to start a medical practice and raise his sons, Harry and Cal, and his willful daughter, Lorna.

But the peace Dixon seeks eludes him. Johnson County is soon engulfed in a bloody range war that will draw in the Dixon family in ways he could never have imagined. When the wealthy cattle barons and their hired guns invade, vowing to eliminate anyone who dares stand in their way, the Dixons and Billy Sun, the half-breed Indian boy Lorna loves, must find the strength to confront the violent men whose greed threatens their way of life.

About S.K. Salzer:

A graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, S.K. Salzer’s first novel, Up From Thunder, a tale of the Civil War Missouri featuring the young Jesse James, was published in 2010. Salzer’s short story “Cornflower Blue” won the 2009 Spur Award from Western Writers of America (WWA) for short fiction and the 2010 John Newman Edwards Award from the Friends of the James Farm. Salzer’s short story, “The Saint of Pox Island,” published in the March/April 2012 issue of Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, was a finalist in WWA’s 2013 short fiction competition. S.K. lives in Missouri.

Average Customer Review

Based on 0 reviews



Write a Review