That Darkness: A Gardiner and Renner Novel #1

by Lisa Black
ISBN: 9781496701886
Publish Date: 4/26/2016
Format: Hardcover
Categories: Psychological, Thriller/Suspense, Psychological, Serial Killer, Kensington, New Series



List Price: $25.00
Also available: Amazon, B&N, BAM, IndieBound, Target, Walmart, Hudson Booksellers

Please select a retailer above to purchase or visit your local bookstore.

Meet Author Lisa Black!

Why do you like to work with dead bodies?

They’re quiet. And they don’t whine.

Seriously, I don’t like being around dead bodies any more than the next person—it just doesn’t bother me. You either get used to it very quickly, or you very quickly get into another line of work. I do this job because I like listening to the endless myriad of stories I encounter. Each person really is truly unique. There’s nothing scary about it.

Then what do you like about being a CSI? With or without dead people?

The most satisfying time is when I can contribute something useful to the investigation. It’s not like TV:  I often have a pile of forensic evidence, but it doesn’t prove anything in particular. Or the detectives catch the killer, but through witness statements or confessions, not forensic clues. But when I can determine a fact or a sequence that points the detectives in the right direction or turns a suspicion into a conclusion, that feels good.

What would readers be surprised to learn from your books?

That cops don’t have a batcomputer (if we’re testing an unknown substance, we have to have at least some idea of what it is—organic, inorganic, etc.); we don’t have automatic access to the FBI’s vast fingerprint database; and we can’t hack into a store’s sales receipts to find out how many bottles of Chanel No. 5 they sold in the greater Miami area. I’m no lawyer, but I’m pretty sure that’s illegal.

Lisa Fingerprinting

This book deals with vigilantism. Do you plan to bring up a controversial subject?

No. The last thing in the world I ever aim to be is controversial. I despise confrontation. That’s why I’m comfortable with dead bodies—they don’t argue. My vigilante doesn’t think of his actions in terms of social movement or philosophy. In his mind he’s simply policing by other means.

Do you relate this plot to current events?

No, I don’t rip things from the headlines. I wrote this book because the idea and the character had been floating around in my brain for years. What if there were such a person, and what if he did these things? How would he do them, when, where, and why? What would he do if he were found out? So in a sense I didn’t pick the topic—it picked me.

Lisa & Bob

 

 


In this tour de force of psychological suspense, bestselling author Lisa Black draws from her experience as a forensic investigator to create two of the most fascinating characters in crime fiction: a killer with a unique sense of justice and a woman in a lifelong relationship with death…

That Darkness

As a forensic investigator for the Cleveland Police Department, Maggie Gardiner has seen her share of Jane Does. The latest is an unidentified female in her early teens, discovered in a local cemetery. More shocking than the girl's injuries--for Maggie at least--is the fact that no one has reported her missing. She and the detectives assigned to the case (including her cop ex-husband) are determined to follow every lead, run down every scrap of evidence. But the monster they seek is watching every move, closer to them than they could possibly imagine. 

Jack Renner is a killer. He doesn't murder because he enjoys it, or because he believes himself omnipotent, or for any reason other than to make the world a safer place. When he follows the trail of this Jane Doe to a locked room in a small apartment where eighteen teenaged girls are anything but safe, he knows something must be done. But his pursuit of their captor takes an unexpected turn.

Maggie Gardiner finds another body waiting for her in the autopsy room--and a host of questions that will challenge everything she believes about justice, morality, and the true nature of evil …

Praise For Lisa Black and her bestselling novels

"Lisa Black writes with immediacy and unmatched authenticity." --Jeff Lindsay, New York Times bestselling author of the DEXTER series

"In Black's skillful hands, you're in for a surprise…a gifted storyteller." --Ridley Pearson

"A must-read for fans of Cornwell and Grafton." --Booklist

"Black, who is a forensic scientist, certainly knows her field." --Publishers Weekly

"Quite simply, one of the best storytellers around." --Tess Gerritsen

"Highly entertaining…Fans of forensic thrillers will look forward to seeing more." --Library Journal

"Pulse-pounding adventure…devilishly clever." --Mystery Scene

"Lisa Black heightens the suspense." --South Florida Sun-Sentinel

About Lisa Black:

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Black is the author of seven novels in the Theresa MacLean mystery series and two novels written as Elizabeth Becka. As a forensic scientist at the Cuyahoga County Coroner's Office, she analyzed gunshot residue on hands and clothing, hairs, fibers, paint, glass, DNA, blood and many other forms of trace evidence, as well as crime scenes. Now she is a latent print examiner and CSI for the Cape Coral Police Department in Florida, working mostly with fingerprints and crime scenes.

Lisa has lectured at writers' conventions and appeared on panels, and is a member of Sisters In Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and International Thriller Writers. As a forensic specialist, she is a member of the American Academy of Forensic Scientists, the International Association for Identification, the International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysts and is a Certified Latent Print Examiner. She has testified in court as an expert witness over 65 times. Her books have been translated into six languages.  She lives near Fort Myers, Florida. Visit her on Facebook, Twitter, or at www.lisa-black.com.

Photo Credit: Susan M. Klingbeil


Average Customer Review

Based on 0 reviews



Write a Review