ebook

The Devil's Breath: A Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery

Tessa Harris

ISBN 9781617730276
Publish Date 12/31/2013
Format ePub
Categories Kensington Ebooks, Mystery
List Price: $5.99

Other Editions

Trade Paperback

Eighteenth-century anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone travels to the English countryside to unravel a tangled web of mystery, medicine, and murder--in this captivating new novel from Tessa Harris. . .

A man staggers out of his cottage into the streets of Oxfordshire, shattering an otherwise peaceful evening with the terrible sight of his body shaking and heaving, eyes wild with horror. Many of the villagers believe the Devil himself has entered Joseph Makepeace, the latest victim of a "great fog" that darkens the skies over England like a Biblical plague. When Joseph's son and daughter are found murdered--heads bashed in by a shovel--the town's worst suspicions are confirmed: Evil is abroad, and needs to be banished.

A brilliant man of science, Dr. Thomas Silkstone is not one to heed superstition. But when he arrives at the estate of the lovely widow Lady Lydia Farrell, he finds that it's not just her grain and livestock at risk. A shroud of mystery surrounds Lydia's lost child, who may still be alive in a workhouse. A natural disaster fills the skies with smoke and ash, clogging the lungs of all who breathe it in. And the grisly details of a father's crime compels Dr. Silkstone to look for answers beyond his medical books--between the Devil and the deep blue sea. . .

Praise for The Dead Shall Not Rest

"Outstanding. . .well-rounded characters, cleverly concealed evidence and an assured prose style point to a long run for this historical series." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Populated with real historical characters and admirably researched, Harris's novel features a complex and engrossing plot. A touch of romance makes this sophomore outing even more enticing. Savvy readers will also recall Hilary Mantel's The Giant, O'Brien." --Library Journal

Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice

"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The New York Times Book Review

"An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." --Publishers Weekly

"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal

About Tessa Harris:

Tessa Harris is the author of the acclaimed Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mysteries, including Secrets in the Stones and The Anatomist’s Apprentice, as well as the debut Constance Piper Mystery, The Sixth Victim. A graduate of Oxford University with a History degree, Tessa has also been a journalist and editor, contributing to many national publications such as The Times and The Telegraph. She has also acted as a literary publicist for several well-known authors. Readers can visit her website at tessaharrisauthor.com.

Maureen McLean Photography 


Average Customer Review

Based on 1 review


Customer Review

Truly the Breath of the Devil (Saturday, January 4, 2014)
Reviewer: Kathy Jund

Tessa Harris returns once again to bring us the third installment in her Dr. Thomas Silverstone mystery series! Tessa brings forward a mysterious incident from the past to enlighten her readers along with suspense surrounding an unknown suspect (or suspects as it may be) responsible for four murders that draws her Dr. Silverstone to the forefront in gathering clues to not only solve the murders but also provide an answer to the strange phenomena which surrounds their small town of Oxfordshire with only his wits and the resources surrounding him in 1783 England.

Thomas Silkstone a doctor in his own right, trained in America, although living in England these past nine years as apprentice to the renowned and highly respected anatomist Dr. Carruthers (who to Thomas’ great fortune had come to be not only his mentor but a very dear friend) was still looked upon as that “upstart doctor from the colonies” by all the locals. Considering that the events of late have also branded him with a reputation of using science to also solve murder cases that he unwittingly found himself embroiled in, to his credit not only performing post-mortems, but also searching out the clues as to the guilty party. Thomas, in preparing to leave London to visit the love of his life, the recently widowed Lady Lydia Farrell felt uneasiness come upon him that he could not explain. Thomas would not be deterred however, because he had made a promise and nothing would keep him from it. How soon he would find upon arriving at Boughton Hall the country estate of Lady Farrell, nestled in the small village of Oxfordshire that the events there would test all his training. While searching for clues to the missing child he has sworn to find, although feeling thwarted at every turn it is the sudden arrival of a mysterious acrid fog causing death and destruction to anything in its path; whether it be man, beast or vegetation; thick enough to block the light of day had settled in for a long stay. As Thomas attempts to try and alleviate the suffering and come up with an explanation the small shire also falls victim to two murders which once again becomes a call to action for the young anatomist to find the truth.

A returning cast of endearing characters make this an outstanding series to follow! Readers can’t help but be compelled to find out how the good Doctor will solve the cases at hand!


Write a Review